8 Frank Lloyd Wright sites have made the UNESCO World Heritage List

Home / 8 Frank Lloyd Wright sites have made the UNESCO World Heritage List

Image credit: Instagram.com/danieljkiser

As one of the most well-known architects in the world, Frank Lloyd Wright’s legacy on the architectural landscape is massive. From the modernist marvel Fallingwater in Pennsylvania to the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum in New York and even this Blade Runner house, the esteemed American architect, interior designer and painter has made his mark all over the United States (36 states, to be exact). So it’s with much celebration that the late architect’s foundation has finally secured inscription of eight of his best-loved works on the UNESCO World Heritage List in the United States.

It’s the culmination of some 15 years of work from the Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation and the eight works include the aforementioned Fallingwater and Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum. The eight sites span 50 years of the architect’s considerable oeuvre and the naming marks the first modern architecture designation in the United States on the UNESCO World Heritage List, which currently numbers 1,092 sites globally.

Image credit: Instagram.com/guggenheim

“It is an immense honour to have Frank Lloyd Wright’s work recognised on the world stage among the most vital and important cultural sites on Earth like Taj Mahal in India, the Pyramids of Giza in Egypt and the Statue of Liberty in New York,” says Stuart Graff, president and CEO of the Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation, in a statement. “To have this unique American legacy placed alongside these precious few sites around the globe is meaningful because it recognises the profound influence of this American architect and his impact on the whole world. This designation is a great source of national pride, and while eight buildings are included in the inscription, it recognises the importance of Wright’s work, embodied in every one of his buildings and designs. These sites are not simply World Heritage monuments because they are beautiful. It’s so much more than that. These are places of profound influence, inspiration, and connection.”

Click Here: online rugby store malaysia

A pioneer of the Prairie School of architecture, Wright founded a style famous for its consideration of nature, landscape and craftsmanship and its link to the American Midwest. Below, take a look at the eight sites that have been selected.

All other images from the Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation website.

Unity Temple, Oak Park, Illinois
Photo by Tom Rossiter courtesy of Harboe Architects.

Frederick C. Robie House, Chicago, Illinois
Photo by Nick Abele courtesy of Frank Lloyd Wright Trust.

Taliesin, Spring Green, Wisconsin
Photo by Andrew Pielage.

Hollyhock House, Los Angeles, California
Photo by Joshua White.

Fallingwater, Mill Run, Pennsylvania
Photo courtesy of the Western Pennsylvania Conservancy.

Herbert and Katherine Jacobs House, Madison, Wisconsin
Photo by David Heald courtesy of James Dennis.

Taliesin West, Scottsdale, Arizona
Photo by Jill Richards.

Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York.
Photo courtesy of Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation.

About Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *